Traveling Solo, Exploring 4 Provinces of Indonesia for 22 days (Part 7)


Day 13 ,  December 20, 2011 // Probolingo + Cemoro Lawang, Bromo East Java

A nice sleep in a village style room

At 3 AM, I woke up to get ready for capturing sunrise via Mount Penanjakan, to see sunrise emerged from the back of Mt.Bromo. I hope the weather is great, no raining or cloudy. When I was about to go out for sunrise, .. I met three of western guests who stayed next to my room. Two males, one female, I met them before when I had a small chat with two Vietnamese girls sat next to our table at cafe. Listened to their language.. well, they speak German.

They rented 2 motorcycles to reach mount penanjakan. We had small greeting, smile each another and asking how the way you guys to get mt.Penanjakan etc etc. Then, I continued my journey alone. Yesterday, our jeep driver asked me to send me to the foot of mount Penanjakan. He offered me for 2 way drive by ojek, but I refused. I’d find my own way to go back to hostel. Because I don’t like being scheduled on my trip,… I don’t want there’s somebody waiting for me to send me back to the hostel. I want to be free, .. being scheduled, give me a feeling like I’m under tour travel trip..😛

So, .. I met our yesterday jeep driver, .. I forgot how much I paid for him. If, I’m not wrong not that much, less than 50 thousand rupiah, and I rented a jacket. Ha Ha… I didn’t bring my own jacket in this trip. C’mon….. Jacket is not comfortable to carry on my back pack, it will take much space in my back pack for a jacket only… then, we don’re really need thick jacket in tropical country.. so, its better just rent them.. it’s only 15.000 rupiah. It’s comfy and clean.

Two Vietnamese girls already done with sunrise part, so .. they told me, they are not going to climb mt.Penanjakan for the second time anymore….🙂

Foot of Mt. Penanjakan not really far from my hostel apparantly, around 2 minutes by motorcycle. But, it’s just too dark, and I didn’t know how to get there if I go alone…….. without a guide, …. and of course, BRRRRRRRR…. so cold, man!!!!

He dropped me at the foot of mountain,…. there are many domestic and foreign tourist there.. Well, I like to see this crowds.. at least, I’m not going to be afraid of being alone to climb the trek. … Okay,…. I can’t say climbing up is an easy way to do… NOOO.. Hell no…… It’s two times harder than my work out at the gym. Gasping breath, bathed in sweat,…… my heart beat so fast.. my legs have to struggle to climb up…………. I’m not sure how much calorie I burnt for this activity. I can’t say it’s tiring…. It’s fun, more fun than work out at the Gym…. It’s the real work out in nature……………..

However, … I still think…. I need to do more exercise…. Because, Mt. Penanjakan is in easy category trekking. But, honestly… I still feel abit tired and need to take a breath deeply, drinking water and stop for a while to gain my energy and stamina, which I’ve seen some caucasians .. girls or boys,… middle aged..they don’t seem overwhelmed…. I think it’s because they do jogging or walking constantly.

And it was the dark, around 4 am.. Probably it takes around 40 minutes to reach the spot to see the sunrise. While climbing up, locals offered me to ride a horse to climb up. I refused many times, that my intention is to test my stamina and of course, burning this ugly fat on my tummy.

Mt.Bromo view from Mt. Penanjakan

Then, I finally reached it!!!!!!!    there are some locals who open stall for hot coffee and tea, also fried banana……..  While waiting for the sunrise comes up from behind Mt.Bromo back, I ordered a cup of hot coffee from a boiled water and some pieces of fried banana. Sorry, I forgot how much all together, but it doesn’t expensive at all.

I adore these sellers, they carried their clean water to be boiled, all their apparatus such as kettle, stove from  mountain to mountain. Man, they are really a group of highlanders, male or female…  I almost run out of breath only for an easy trek, to reach this spot,without any burden to carry, myself only. Shame on me!!!

I’ve seen western tourists also ordered hot coffee or tea while enjoying  Bromo scenery at the dawn. I remember my Dutch friend, ah…. these tourists are not as paranoid as my Dutch friend. My Dutch friend said, they don’t believe Indonesian water, so he always buys mineral water.

My another Dutch friends said.. some Dutch are like that, they really obey all what do’s and don’ts in Indonesia through booklet for European should avoid in developing countries. To prevent them from diarrhea or stuff like that, but.. it’s because they don’t have a brave to try. It’s normal you’ll get some stomach problem when your bowel not really used to foreign bacterium visit your body. It just takes some times to adapt, mates…… :P  (but, some.. are not really lucky to have very sensitive stomach)..

But I believe the water is clean,.. it’s mountainous water!!!!!!!

To Be Continued, …. next: My adventure in exploring Mt.Bromo, …. standing at the edge of Bromo crater,… riding a horse over the cliffs and sea sand… STAY TUNED😉

Sunrise from Mount Penanjakan

Couple enjoying the sunrise, so romantic place, isn’t it?

6 thoughts on “Traveling Solo, Exploring 4 Provinces of Indonesia for 22 days (Part 7)

  1. they really obey all what do’s and don’ts in Indonesia through booklet for European should avoid in developing countries. To prevent them from diarrhea or stuff like that, but.. it’s because they don’t have a brave to try. It’s normal you’ll get some stomach problem when your bowel not really used to foreign bacterium visit your body. It just takes some times to adapt, mates……

    hhaha… suka sama kalimat ini:mrgreen: Dosen sy pernah blang, jangan pernah takut mencoba mencoba makanan baru *yg halal, of course* krn reaksi pertama adalah bentuk adaptasi tubuh terhadap makanan tersebut, cobalah sekali lagi dan akan menjadi terbiasa atau malah tubuh akan benar2 menolak.

    Gasping breath, bathed in sweat,…… my heart beat so fast.. my legs have to struggle to climb up………….

    sy kemaren juga gitu kak pas pendakian pertama… sampe tertinggal temen2😦
    tapi SENEEENG banget dan ga nyesel..

Leave a Reply

